Awards & Recognition Program



    The National Forum for Black Public Administrators is pleased to announce its awards for 2014.  Through partnerships with corporate supporters, public sector organizations and individual contributors, NFBPA is able is recognize outstanding leadership, scholarship and public service.  Awards and Scholarship recipients will be recognized at FORUM 2014 in San Antonio, Texas, April 11-15, 2014.

    All award nominations must be postmarked by March 27, 2014.


    NFBPA’S Marks of Excellence Award is bestowed upon an African American public administrator who has achieved extraordinary success in the field of public management while demonstrating an unselfish commitment to the community.  This prestigious award is NFBPA’s highest honor and is presented annually at the awards banquet during FORUM.



    Eligible candidates include non-elected administrators at all levels of public service in local, state or federal governments, non-profit institutions, community-based organizations, academic institutions or related professional groups.  Recipients must be NFBPA members.


    Criteria for Selection

    The recipient of the award will be an individual engaged in public administration who has performed some act(s) of public service, which has been conspicuous in its benefit to the greater community, and who has exhibited exemplary leadership qualities that have inspired those associated with him/her to strive for excellence in performance and service.

    In addition, the recipient has demonstrated by his/her personal efforts that service to the public goes beyond the descriptions of the job assignment and has consistently striven to persevere, create and invent more efficient and responsive systems that benefit all segments of the population.

    The recipient is recognized as one whose perpetual quest for higher standards enriches the science of public management, raises the quality of services to the community, and sets him/her apart as a consensus candidate for national recognition.  Through his/her example, others can learn new and better ways of doing things—whether they result from technical innovations or management techniques.



    In April 1991, the NFBPA Board of Directors established the “Hall of Fame” Award to “recognize and honor African Americans in public services whose accomplishments are noteworthy of emulation and who serve as a source of inspiration and encouragement to others in public management.”  The Hall of Fame was created to pay tribute to African Americans who have achieved unprecedented “firsts” in public service.  Inaugural inductees (1992) were then Governor L. Douglas Wilder, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court Thurgood Marshall and Cabinet Secretary Robert Weaver.  Recipients since then have included Tom Bradley; Barbara Jordan; Maynard Jackson; Quentin R. Lawson; John Stroger; Coleman Young, Nelson Mandela; Ronald Brown; Maxine Waters; Colin Powell; NFBPA Founders; William H. Gray, III; C. Delores Tucker; Oliver W. Hill, Sr.; Phillip Rutledge; Yvonne Braithwaite Burke; Eleanor Holmes Norton, Shirley Franklin; Henry L. Marsh, III, Harold Washington and Ulysses G. Ford, III.


    Criteria for Selection

    The nominee’s achievements must include the design or use of innovative programs which have benefited the community in which the nominee has worked.  The nominee must hold, or have held in the past, a high-ranking appointed leadership and managerial position in local, state or federal government or a public institution of higher education, not previously held by an African American.



    NFBPA is committed to recognizing excellence in scholastic and professional achievement.  In an effort to further the goal of “grooming and preparing younger, aspiring, public administrators for senior-level management positions’, NFBPA offers the Steven D. Ford Memorial Award.  Only one award is given each year which is presented during the ELI/Mentor Program graduation at FORUM.



    Eligible candidates include non-elected administrators at all levels of public service in local, state or federal government, non-profit institutions and community-based organizations, academic institutions or related professionalism and leadership achievement.  Candidate must be active in an NFBPA local chapter.


    Criteria for Selection

    This nationally competitive award seeks to recognize a young administrator, under age 36, who has demonstrated above average commitment and success in his/her profession, and in the community.  Candidate must hold regular membership with NFBPA (non-student).


    Nomination Procedures for all Awards

    Persons sponsoring candidates for an award are required to follow the procedures outlined below:

    • Submit a three to five page narrative, doubled-space, explaining the basis for the nomination.
    • Enclose a biographical sketch of the nominee that includes pertinent information such as positions held, volunteer work, honors, awards, and other relevant personal data.
    • Include a separate document which contains the name, address, title, organization and daytime telephone number of: (a) the nominee; (b) the sponsor (nominator); and (c) two persons who can substantiate the outstanding qualities of the nominee and agree to serve as references (For the Steven D. Ford Memorial Award – one reference must represent the nominee’s local chapter).
    • Send 1 hard copy and 1 electronic nomination package to:  NFBPA Awards, 777 North Capitol Street, NE, Suite 807, Washington, DC 20002.  Electronic submissions should be sent to:  Please indicate the award for which you are offering a nomination:  Attn:  Marks of Excellence; Hall of Fame, or Steven D. Ford, on both the hard copy, and in the subject line of the electronic submissions.